ITER is an international, large-scale scientific collaboration intended to prove the viability of fusion as an energy source, and to collect the data necessary for the design and subsequent operation of the first electricity-producing fusion power plant. To achieve this goal, seven countries (China, European Union, India, Japan, South Korea, Russia and the United States), have joined forces to build the ITER Tokamak: the world’s largest Fusion Device. The seven Members have signed the ITER Agreement in 2006, and have agreed to share in every aspect of the Project: science, procurement, financing, staffing, intellectual property, etc. The ITER Project is based in Saint-Paul Lez Durance, in the South of France, where the ITER platform is currently under construction.

component teaserexhibitoraccounts not found